4 Regions of Ukraine Prepare for the Mandatory Evacuation of Population

by Olha Povaliaieva
Saturday, August 27, 2022
4 Regions of Ukraine Prepare for the Mandatory Evacuation of Population

Donetsk, Kharkiv, Zaporizhzhia and Mykolaiv regions are preparing for partial and mandatory evacuation to 13 other areas of Ukraine

On August 26, the minister for the reintegration of the temporarily occupied territories, Irina Vereshchuk, announced that in addition to the previously launched mandatory evacuation from the Donetsk region, it was time for residents of Kharkiv, Zaporizhzhia and Mykolaiv regions to get ready.

"Kharkiv region, Zaporizhzhia, including the Mykolaiv region, are in the queue for mandatory evacuation. We know that some parts, I'm not talking about the entire region, will need mandatory evacuation. We are also preparing for it," Irina Vereshchuk.

We remind you that on July 30, the government began mandatory evacuating the Ukrainian population from the Donetsk region. The region is destroyed and no longer habitable. People will be unable to survive this winter in destroyed houses without light, water and heating. The state provides transportation and housing in one of Ukraine's 13 safe regions and food and medical services to help evacuated Ukrainians survive the winter. Since the beginning of August, more than 10.000 residents of Donetsk have been evacuated. In total, it is planned to take out at least 200.000 people.

Now the state is considering the possibility of depriving the parental rights of those Ukrainians who refuse to evacuate their minor children from unsafe regions — Donetsk, Kharkiv, Zaporizhzhia and Mykolaiv.

You will be interested