Europe Will Not Recognize Russian Passports

by Olha Povaliaieva
Thursday, September 8, 2022
Europe Will Not Recognize Russian Passports

The European Commission voted positively for the proposal not to recognize RF passports issued in Ukrainian territories

On 6 September, the European Commission put forward a unique proposal for consideration. The vote was requested that all member states of the European Union not recognize Russian passports issued in the territory of Ukraine. This means that all documents that Ukrainians, who remained in the occupied territories and yet under the control of the Russia, will not be valid. People will not be able to get a visa or cross the external borders of the EU.

The draft received feedback from the meeting. As a result, the European Commission approved a proposal on non-recognition of the passports of the aggressor country issued in the occupied territories of Ukraine.

"This is the first time in history that a commission has put forward a European Union legislative proposal for the non-recognition of passports, binding on all member States. This proposal must be approved by legislators (the EU Council and the European Parliament)," said European commissioner Ilva Johansson.

Recall that the occupation forces and collaborators are preparing a referendum in the Kherson and part of the Zaporizhzhia region. The vote will concern the annexation of the occupied lands and their accession to the map of Russia. However, the referendum was repeatedly postponed due to the counteroffensive of the armed forces of Ukraine.

You will be interested