IAEA Resolution on ZNPP

by Olha Povaliaieva
Thursday, September 15, 2022
IAEA Resolution on ZNPP

The IAEA board of governors adopted a resolution calling for the withdrawal of military forces from the territory of Zaporizhzhia NPP

The IAEA held a private meeting following the commission's visit to Ukraine to Europe's largest nuclear facility. Representatives of 35 UN member states and the Council considered a resolution according to which Russia should withdraw its army from the territory of the nuclear facility. The signature of the document was based on a majority vote. 26 representatives supported the resolution's adoption and imposed on Russia the obligation to withdraw troops from the nuclear power plant in Energodar. 7 diplomats abstained: Egypt, South Africa, Senegal, Burundi, Vietnam, and India. 2 countries opposed the security of Europe. Those countries were Russia and China. The adoption of the resolution is reported by the publication Reuters.

The document calls on the RF to immediately stop using the plant as a military facility and leave the territory of the ZNPP. The resolution applies to all nuclear power stations in Ukraine.

IAEA experts also indicated that they would not identify those responsible for the bombings. However, the board of governors of the international agency expressed condolences to Ukraine for the prolonged Russian aggression in the country.

You will be interested