Ukraine and Sweden Sign Security Agreement

by Roman Cheplyk
Friday, May 31, 2024
Ukraine and Sweden Sign Security Agreement

On May 31, President of Ukraine Volodymyr Zelenskyi and Prime Minister of Sweden Ulf Kristersson signed an Agreement on Cooperation in the Security Sector in Stockholm

The agreement outlines that Sweden will provide military aid to Ukraine amounting to SEK 75 billion (approximately €6.5 billion) during 2024-2026, which translates to about €2.2 billion per year. The total amount of aid is expected to increase over the ten-year term of the agreement.

Key aspects of Ukraine's military support from Sweden include:

  • Aviation and Air Defense: Strengthening Ukraine's capabilities in these areas.
  • Armored Vehicles and Artillery: Including the continued provision of Archer artillery systems and CV90 combat vehicles.
  • Enhanced Maritime Security: Improving security measures at sea.
  • Mine Clearance Assistance: Helping Ukraine clear mines from its territories.
  • Unmanned Aerial Vehicles: Supplying drones for various operational needs.

A unique element of this agreement is the provision of specialized ASC 890 aircraft and the potential transfer of JAS 39 Gripen aircraft to Ukraine, along with relevant training programs.

Additionally, Sweden will support the development of Ukraine's defense and industrial sectors by focusing on localization, repair, maintenance, and the production of Swedish defense products within Ukraine.

The agreement also includes:

  • Support for the Ukrainian Peace Formula: Efforts to foster peace and stability.
  • Sanctions and Compensation for Damages: Measures to hold the aggressor accountable and compensate for damages.
  • Assistance in Economic Recovery and Reconstruction: Helping Ukraine rebuild and protect critical infrastructure.

Furthermore, Sweden confirmed its support for Ukraine's membership in the European Union and NATO.

This marks the 13th bilateral security agreement Ukraine has signed, following agreements with the United Kingdom, Germany, France, Denmark, Canada, Italy, the Netherlands, Finland, Latvia, Spain, Belgium, Portugal, and now Sweden.

You will be interested