17 Countries Have Become Guarantors of Ukraine’s Security

by Meifan Honcharuk
Monday, July 17, 2023
17 Countries Have Become Guarantors of Ukraine’s Security

After the NATO summit, G7 and more 10 states joined the Joint declaration of support for Ukraine

On July 12, the G7 adopted a Declaration of support for Ukraine in Vilnius. The framework agreement certifies "unwavering commitment to the strategic goal of creating a free, independent, democratic and sovereign Ukraine" and encourages all countries to join its paragraphs. As of July 17, in addition to the USA, Canada, Japan, Great Britain, Germany, France and Italy, Denmark, Spain, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, the Czech Republic, Finland, Iceland, Belgium, and Portugal also joined the agreement.

The Declaration states that "Ukraine's security is an integral part of the security of the Euro-Atlantic region," and that is why the states undertake obligations aimed at ensuring transnational security through:

  • Provision of equipment to Ukraine for the defence of its borders on land, sea and air today and in the future, as well as in the event of a repeated attack by Russia;
  • Assistance in the development of the defence systems industry of Ukraine;
  • Military training of Ukrainian soldiers at the bases of the countries;
  • Sharing intelligence and strengthening cyber security;
  • Strengthening the economic strength of Ukraine;
  • Financial and technical assistance for the recovery of Ukraine;
  • Assistance in the exercise of Ukraine's right to self-defence in accordance with Article 51 of the UN Charter.

In addition, the guarantor countries are going to work to bring Russia to justice at the International Criminal Court and block Russian assets until the aggressor country fully compensates for the damage caused to Ukraine.

According to the Declaration, Ukraine has an obligation to invest in the security of partner countries to continue reforms and modernisation.

You will be interested